If you’re on campus, being signed in verifies that you are able to use our resource sharing services (Summit and Interlibrary Loan); these options won’t display unless the system knows who you are. Being signed in also gives you quick access to your account, saved searches, and saved items. Of course, if you’re an experienced user and you know that you don’t need those options you can dismiss the prompt and it won’t affect your search results or access (and you can sign in later if you change your mind).
Another reason we have it set up this way is because we don’t have an easy way to differentiate between IP addresses in generating the prompt, and because signing in is more important for off-campus users (e-resource access and improved search results, plus the reasons stated above) we throw the one-size-fits-all prompt at everyone.
Thank you for your input! We’re continually working at ways at fine-tuning our implementation of this system, and it’s helpful to know how certain things come across as confusing. I hope this explanation clarifies it a bit.